TechCareers

Learn . . . and earn!

Just What Do You Want to Do?

I never thought about all those Sunday afternoons as family time, but looking back, I see that’s where my parents instilled a lot of values in their six children.

After a large dinner (that’s what the middle-of-the-day meal was called on Sundays), we retired to the living room. There was always the Sunday paper. Typically, Dad was reading the front page, so I would grab as much of the insides as I could and head over to the huge floor grate where heat from the wood furnace in the basement would rise up to heat the ranch style house in the southern Missouri Ozarks.

I remember more than once, my mother asking us, “What do you want to be when you grow up?” My younger brother, Craig, would always, always say he wanted to be like Daddy. It’s interesting to note Craig got a football scholarship but returned home after a year and bought into our family’s small business, working alongside Dad.

My older brother by 13 months would typically say something about college. Von was the brains in the family, but also a lot of fun. Still, there was never any question that he would go to college for an engineering degree.

By age 11, I knew I wanted to be a writer, so I typically would hold up the newspaper I was reading and pronounce that I wanted to work writing. I remember my dad cringing a bit because in our small town, controversies stirred around the daily newspaper. Still, to my parents’ credit, they supported my desire to go into journalism.

Our next-to-the-youngest sister was a leader from the start. Mom and Dad tell the story about when they had just bought the house and was remodeling it, they would put all six of us in one room, instructing us to let them work. They checked in on us, and 3-year-old Robin was standing on a box, preaching to the rest of us. Today, she manages a district for a major discount chain of stores. No surprise there.

My youngest sister, who was rather shy by nature, didn’t say much but later chose a career in teaching. She also excelled in art and now teaches it to K-6.

As the oldest, my sister, Marsha, wasn’t as sure about what she wanted to do. It would be several years before she started working for a medical professional, but she has learned much in the medical and insurance fields.

I look back at how my parents influenced us, yet each of us chose our own path. When I look at our list of technical careers offered here at Texas State Technical College, I marvel at how diversified the training is.

You may not have had the luxury of long, lazy Sunday afternoons in which to think about your future, but take some time to think about what you would like to do.

There’s a world of technical education available, and it’s up to you to choose. We just finished a wonderful booklet outlining the books in our TechCareers series. If

-Sheila

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.

